Blog · October 22, 2026

Can you be self-employed or start your own business on OPT or STEM OPT?

On post-completion OPT, SEVP's guidance lists self-employed business owner among the allowed types of work. The business must relate to your degree, and you must be able to prove proper business licenses and active engagement. STEM OPT is different: you must be a bona fide employee of an E-Verify employer that signs your Form I-983.

Summarized from official sources, checked October 22, 2026. Official pages change; follow the linked source if it differs from this summary.

Short version: post-completion OPT and STEM OPT treat self-employment very differently. This post sets out what official sources say for each, how gig work and 1099 contracts fit, how self-employment is reported, and the records to keep.

Not legal advice. This article summarizes official U.S. government sources. It is not legal, immigration or tax advice. EADly is not a law firm and is not affiliated with USCIS, DHS, ICE or the IRS. Before you start a business or take contract work on OPT, confirm the plan with your DSO or a qualified immigration attorney. Last checked October 22, 2026. Each source's own date is in the Sources list.

What types of work count on post-completion OPT?

SEVP's OPT policy guidance says: "All OPT employment, including post-completion OPT, must be in a job that is related to the student's degree program." It then lists the types of employment that may count for students who are not on a STEM extension (§7.2.1, SEVP Policy Guidance 1004-03):

TypeWhat the guidance saysWhat it says to keep or show
Paid employmentPart time (at least 20 hours a week on post-completion OPT) or full timeNot specified in this list
Multiple employersYou may work for more than one employer, but "all employment must be related to the student's degree program"Not specified in this list
Short-term multiple employers (gigs)"A student, such as a musician or other type of performing artist, may work for multiple short term employers (gigs)""a list of all gigs, the dates and duration"
Work for hire (1099)A service "based on a contractual relationship rather than an employment relationship"If DHS asks: "the duration of the contract period and the name and address of the contracting company"
Self-employed business owner"A student on OPT may start a business and be self-employed"Proof of "the proper business licenses" and that you are "actively engaged in a business related to the student's degree program"
Agency or consulting firmEmployment through an agency or consulting firmEvidence that you "worked an average of at least 20 hours per week while employed by the agency"
Unpaid or volunteerAllowed "where this practice does not violate any labor laws," at least 20 hours a weekEvidence from the employer that you worked at least 20 hours a week

This guidance dates from 2010. ICE says it "remains in effect," but where its 17-month STEM content conflicts with the 2016 24-month STEM rule, the rule should be followed (ICE, Practical Training). That matters for STEM OPT, below.

The rules every type has to meet

  • Directly related to your degree. OPT is employment "directly related to the student's major area of study" (8 CFR 214.2(f)(10)(ii)(A)). The SEVIS Help Hub says: "It is the student's responsibility to relate the training opportunity to the program of study." (SEVIS Help Hub, Add, Edit, Delete OPT Employer)
  • At least 20 hours a week. Post-completion OPT "must be at least 20 hours per week or full-time" (SEVIS Help Hub, F-1 OPT). With a variable schedule, "within a month, it should average out to at least 20 hours per week" (§7.1.5, SEVP Policy Guidance 1004-03).
  • Not before your EAD date. "The student may not begin optional practical training until the date indicated on his or her employment authorization document" (8 CFR 214.2(f)(10)(ii)(A)).
  • Gaps count. Each day without qualifying employment, weekends included, counts toward the 90-day limit (§7.1.6). In the guidance's own SEVIS table, the end of a work-for-hire contract is entered as "Unemployed" with the end date of the last contract (§7.3.3).

Flag: adding up part-time jobs. The guidance allows more than one employer, but we did not find an official sentence saying that several part-time jobs can be added together to reach 20 hours on post-completion OPT. If you rely on combined hours, ask your DSO first. More in How OPT unemployment days are counted.

Starting your own business on post-completion OPT

The guidance's test for a self-employed business owner has three parts. You must be able to prove that you:

  1. have "the proper business licenses";
  2. are "actively engaged" in the business; and
  3. run a business "related to the student's degree program."

The 20-hour rule applies too. The guidance does not say which licenses count. Ask your DSO what evidence it expects.

How self-employment is reported

  • In the SEVP Portal: "Click the Self Employed Check box if the user is self-employed. The portal will enter the student's name in the Employer name section." You also enter a job title, full or part time, a start date and a "Relation to Field of Study" explanation (SEVP Portal, Update Employer Information).
  • By your DSO in SEVIS: for a self-employed student or independent contractor, the DSO enters "the primary location where the student performs the work," which "may be a residence, office, or formal business" (SEVIS Help Hub, Add, Edit, Delete OPT Employer).
  • The written description: before adding an employer, the DSO should get a written description that includes your job title, employer name, major, whether the work is full time or your average weekly hours, and your "regular job duties and how they directly relate to the degree that qualified the student for OPT" (same page).
  • Timing: "While on OPT, the student must report to the DSO within 10 days any changes in the student's name or address, and employment information" (SEVIS Help Hub, F-1 OPT). The SEVP Portal guide explains where official sources differ on this deadline.

Gig work and 1099 contracts

Gigs

The guidance's gig entry is titled "Short-term multiple employers (performing artists)." Its example is "a musician or other type of performing artist," and it says to keep "a list of all gigs, the dates and duration" (§7.2.1). For reporting, the SEVIS Help Hub tells DSOs to mark multiple short-term gigs as self-employed and describe the work in the remarks, "for example, playing music or acting with multiple gigs" (Add, Edit, Delete OPT Employer).

The guidance's only example is a performing artist. If your gigs are a different kind of work, ask your DSO before you rely on them. The general rules still apply: the work must relate to your degree and average at least 20 hours a week, and days without qualifying work count toward the limit (§7.1.6).

Work for hire (1099 contracts)

The guidance describes work for hire as "commonly referred to as 1099 employment," where "an individual performs a service based on a contractual relationship rather than an employment relationship." If DHS asks, you must be ready to show "the duration of the contract period and the name and address of the contracting company" (§7.2.1, SEVP Policy Guidance 1004-03). Days between contracts with no qualifying work can count as unemployment (§7.1.6), so keep every contract's start and end dates.

Can you be self-employed on STEM OPT?

Not in the same way. The STEM OPT extension is built around an employer that signs a training plan for you.

What the regulation requires

  • E-Verify and an EIN. "The student's employer is enrolled in E-Verify," remains in good standing, and "must also have an employer identification number (EIN) used for tax purposes" (8 CFR 214.2(f)(10)(ii)(C)(5)).
  • Form I-983. You must get signatures "from an appropriate individual in the employer's organization" before the DSO can recommend the extension ((C)(7)(i), same regulation). See EADly's Form I-983 guide.
  • 20 hours. "A student may not engage in practical training for less than 20 hours per week" ((C)(8)).
  • Employer attestations. The employer attests that it has the resources and personnel to train you, that you won't replace a U.S. worker, and that the opportunity helps you reach your training goals ((C)(10)).

Bona fide employee, not your own signer

  • To employ a STEM OPT student, "an employer must have and maintain a bona fide employer-employee relationship with the student." The employer "may not be the F-1 student's employer in name only, nor may the F-1 student work for the employer on a volunteer basis" (USCIS Policy Manual, Vol. 2, Pt. F, Ch. 5).
  • Study in the States: "F-1 students cannot qualify for STEM OPT extensions unless they will be bona fide employees of the employer signing the Form I-983 because F-1 students may not provide the employer attestation (i.e., signatures) on their own behalf." The same page adds: "However, they may use a start-up business so long as all regulatory requirements are met." (Students: Determining STEM OPT Extension Eligibility)
  • The Policy Manual says "sole proprietorships," "multiple employer arrangements," temp agencies and consulting firms that provide labor for hire "may not be able to demonstrate a bona fide employer-employee relationship." For start-ups, alternative compensation may be allowed if the student can show they are a bona fide employee and their compensation, "including any ownership interest in the employer entity (such as stock options)," is commensurate with that of similarly situated U.S. workers (Ch. 5).
  • "DHS reviews on a case-by-case basis whether the F-1 student will be a bona fide employee of the employer signing the training plan" (same chapter).

Flag: the 2010 guidance's STEM section is out of date. Section 7.2.2 of the 2010 guidance said a student on the old 17-month extension could be self-employed if the business was registered with E-Verify and the student worked full time. ICE says the 2016 24-month rule controls wherever that older STEM content conflicts with it (ICE, Practical Training). Don't rely on §7.2.2 for today's STEM OPT.

Reporting on STEM OPT

STEM OPT students can't add an employer in the SEVP Portal. "By regulation, STEM OPT participants must send a completed Form I-983 to their DSO," and the DSO enters the employer in SEVIS (Update Employer Information). A new employer needs a new Form I-983 within 10 days of starting (8 CFR 214.2(f)(10)(ii)(C)(7)(iv)).

Post-completion OPT and STEM OPT side by side

QuestionPost-completion OPTSTEM OPT extension
Self-employed business owner?Listed in SEVP's guidance (§7.2.1)You must be a bona fide employee of the employer signing your Form I-983. A start-up can qualify only if all requirements are met.
1099 contract work?Listed as work for hire (§7.2.1)The employer must be enrolled in E-Verify and have a bona fide employer-employee relationship with you
Short-term gigs?Listed, with a performing-artist example (§7.2.1)Multiple employer arrangements "may not be able to demonstrate" a bona fide relationship
Volunteer or unpaid?Listed, at least 20 hours a weekThe student may not work for the employer "on a volunteer basis"
HoursAt least 20 a weekAt least 20 a week with each STEM OPT employer
Who signs for the employer?No Form I-983 (that is a STEM OPT requirement)An appropriate individual in the employer's organization signs Form I-983, not you

Records to keep

Most of these come straight from the guidance. Keep them for every job, business, contract or gig:

  • Business licenses and evidence that the business is active and related to your degree (§7.2.1).
  • Contracts, with start and end dates and the name and address of the contracting company (§7.2.1).
  • A gig list with dates and duration (§7.2.1).
  • Proof of hours. For a variable schedule, the 20 hours averages out within a month (§7.1.5). Timesheets or invoices can show this.
  • A written description of your duties and how they relate to your degree. If the link isn't clear, SEVP recommends "a signed letter from his or her hiring official, supervisor, or manager stating how the student's degree is related to the work performed" (§7.2.4).
  • Your reports to the SEVP Portal or your DSO. "The student should keep a record of all reports made to the DSO and the method by which the reports are made." (§7.3.2, SEVP Policy Guidance 1004-03)
  • On STEM OPT: each signed Form I-983 and every evaluation.

If your count of days without qualifying work is getting close to the limit, see What happens if you go over 90 days of unemployment.

Taxes are a separate question

Immigration rules and tax rules are separate. On the tax side, the IRS page on foreign students and Social Security taxes says: "An NRA is not liable for the self-employment tax." It adds that once a person becomes a resident alien under the tax residency rules, they are liable for self-employment tax under the same conditions as a U.S. citizen, and that a totalization agreement can also create liability. The same page also says: "As a general rule, the immigration laws of the U.S. do not permit nonimmigrants to earn self-employment income in the U.S." Its self-employment section does not mention OPT (IRS, Foreign Student Liability for Social Security and Medicare Taxes).

For the immigration question, ask your DSO. For tax questions, use the IRS pages or a qualified tax professional. EADly's F-1 taxes guide covers Social Security and Medicare basics.

Keeping your work records in EADly

EADly is a private, local-first app for iPhone and Android:

  • Employment records. Save each job or business with employer name, job title, dates, type (full time, part time or volunteer) and whether it's related to your field. EADly Free saves every F-1 job (OPT, STEM OPT and CPT).
  • Unemployment-day counter. A job you mark as not related to your field doesn't stop the counter.
  • Document Vault. Keep licenses, contracts and letters encrypted on your phone and link them to a job. EADly Free stores one file; EADly Plus removes the file-count limit.

What it doesn't do: EADly doesn't decide whether a business, contract or gig qualifies, and it doesn't report anything to your DSO, SEVIS or USCIS.

Get EADly on the App Store or Google Play. It's a free download.

Common questions

Can I start my own company on post-completion OPT?

SEVP's guidance lists self-employed business owner among the types of OPT employment. You must be able to prove the proper business licenses and that you are actively engaged in a business related to your degree, and the 20-hour rule applies.

Can I work as a 1099 contractor on OPT?

The guidance lists work for hire, also called 1099 employment. If DHS asks, you must be able to show the contract period and the name and address of the contracting company. Days between contracts with no qualifying work can count as unemployment.

Does gig work count as OPT employment?

The guidance lists multiple short-term employers (gigs), with a musician or other performing artist as its example, and says to keep a list of all gigs with dates and duration. The work must still relate to your degree and average at least 20 hours a week. Ask your DSO about other kinds of gigs.

Can I be self-employed on STEM OPT?

Not in the same way. You must be a bona fide employee of an E-Verify employer that signs your Form I-983, and you can't provide the employer's signatures on your own behalf.

Can my own start-up be my STEM OPT employer?

Study in the States says students may use a start-up business so long as all regulatory requirements are met, but they must be bona fide employees of the employer signing the Form I-983. DHS reviews this case by case. Ask your DSO or an immigration attorney.

How do I report self-employment in the SEVP Portal?

Check the Self Employed box when you add an employer. The portal enters your name as the employer. You also explain how the work relates to your degree. STEM OPT students can't add employers in the portal.

Sources

All checked October 22, 2026. The date in brackets is the date each page showed.

This article summarizes official U.S. government sources and is not legal, immigration or tax advice. EADly is not a law firm and is not affiliated with USCIS, DHS, ICE or the IRS.

More guides